England chief Giles dismisses World Cup last ‘further run’ row

England chief Giles dismisses World Cup final 'extra run' row

LONDON: England director of cricket Ashley Giles has insisted he had no qualms about retaining the World Cup trophy after former main umpire Simon Taufel mentioned the hosts had been mistakenly awarded an additional run throughout their nail-biting win over New Zealand within the last at Lord’s.

A freak fielding deflection off Ben Stokes’ bat that raced to the boundary noticed England awarded six runs with three balls to go within the last over on Sunday.

Stokes then tied the rating on the finish of normal play. Scores had been once more stage within the ensuing Tremendous Over, and England received a primary World Cup as a result of that they had hit extra boundaries in the course of the last.

Taufel informed Fox Sports activities Australia that the umpires had made a “clear mistake”, because the batsmen had not crossed for his or her second run when the ball was thrown in by the fielder.

“They need to have been awarded 5 runs, not six,” he mentioned, including that England’s Adil Rashid ought to have confronted the second-last ball as a substitute of Stokes.

Giles, requested if he was involved, mentioned Monday: “Probably not.”

The previous England spinner added: “You can argue the final ball that (Trent) Boult bowled was a full toss on leg stump and if Stokes hadn’t simply been on the lookout for two, he in all probability would’ve banged it out of the bottom anyway.

“We’re world champions; we have now bought the trophy and we intend to maintain it.”

Taufel, a five-time winner of the Worldwide Cricket Council’s Umpire of the Yr award, sits on the Marylebone Cricket Membership (MCC) legal guidelines sub-committee, the worldwide custodian of cricket’s typically obscure guidelines of play.

The Australian defended the match umpires, who he mentioned needed to make a sophisticated judgement, and added it will be “unfair” to say their name had determined the match winner.

Heartbroken New Zealand captain Kane Williamson mentioned: “It was a disgrace that the ball hit Stokes’ bat.

“Sadly that form of factor occurs every now and then. It’s part of the sport that we play.”

England, who’ve usually cited a humiliating defeat by New Zealand on the 2015 World Cup because the catalyst for his or her climb to the highest of the one-day worldwide rankings, lastly have a World Cup win to go together with their three shedding appearances within the 1979, 1987 and 1992 finals.

New Zealand had been additionally searching for to win the trophy for the primary time after being properly overwhelmed by Australia within the 2015 showpiece.



Image Supply

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker