England’s Stokes nominated for New Zealander of the 12 months award

England's Stokes nominated for New Zealander of the Year award - report

WELLINGTON: After ripping the guts out of New Zealand’s bleary-eyed cricket followers on Sunday with a man-of-the-match efficiency within the Cricket World Cup remaining, England all-rounder Ben Stokes has now been nominated for the New Zealander of the 12 months award.

The 28-year-old Stokes was born in New Zealand however grew up in England when his father Gerard moved there to take a rugby league teaching job.

Stokes remained in England when his mother and father returned house and carved out a profitable cricketing profession, scoring 84 not out within the remaining that helped his facet to their maiden 50-over World Cup title at Lord’s on Sunday.

His exploits within the remaining earned some early nominations for the awards, as did New Zealand captain Kane Williamson, native media reported on Friday.

“The way in which he (Williamson) performed himself, not solely within the face of such devastating disappointment at Lord’s however all through the event, resonated powerfully with Kiwis from all walks of life,” the award’s chief choose Cameron Bennett informed the New Zealand Herald on Friday.

“Fascinating to see some character having a bob every manner: we additionally obtained nominations for England’s … Ben Stokes.

“He won’t have been taking part in for the Black Caps however, having been born in Christchurch, the place his mother and father now reside, and with Maori ancestry, there’s clearly a couple of Kiwis about who assume we are able to nonetheless declare him.”


There was no quick response from the awards organisers when contacted by Reuters.

Nominations for the award solely opened on July 1 and shut on Sept. 15. A shortlist is confirmed in December with the winner named subsequent February.

The award is usually given to distinguished members of the group with comic Mike King, who has grow to be a psychological well being and suicide prevention advocate, the newest to obtain the award.

The final sportsman to win it was former All Blacks captain Richie McCaw in 2016 after he led the facet to their second successive Rugby World Cup title in late 2015.



Image Supply

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker