Donald, Tendulkar, Cathryn be a part of ICC Corridor of Fame

LONDON     –         Former India captain Sachin Tendulkar, former South Africa quick bowler Allan Donald and former Australia Ladies’s quick bowler Cathryn Fitzpatrick have develop into the latest additions to the ICC Corridor of Fame. The trio had been inducted in a ceremony in London on Thursday.

Tendulkar, cricket’s most prolific run-getter, was inducted instantly after turning into eligible: the ICC rule requires {that a} participant ought to have performed his final worldwide match at the least 5 years earlier than and Tendulkar had retired in November 2013. He’s the sixth Indian to be a part of the ICC’s Corridor of Fame, following Sunil Gavaskar, Bishan Singh Bedi, Kapil Dev, Anil Kumble and Rahul Dravid.

The one participant to characteristic in 200 Take a look at matches, Tendulkar scored 15921 runs within the longest format and 18426 runs in ODIs, each run tallies standing as information. He’s additionally the one participant to have scored 100 centuries in worldwide cricket (51 in Assessments and 49 in ODIs) and was a part of India’s World Cup successful facet in 2011.

“It’s an honour to be inducted into the ICC Cricket Corridor of Fame, which cherishes the contribution of cricketers over generations,” Tendulkar mentioned. “They’ve all contributed to the expansion and recognition of the sport and I’m joyful to have carried out my bit.” Donald, who retired from all codecs in 2004, was one in all South Africa’s biggest quick bowlers, and the primary bowler from the facet to take 300 Take a look at wickets and 200 ODI wickets. Donald ended with a wickets tally of 602 wickets in a world profession that spanned greater than a decade. “The most important shock while you open an e-mail like that – it says congratulations Allan Donald, you have got been inducted within the ICC Cricket Corridor of Fame! It hits you, it hits you fairly exhausting as a result of it’s a prestigious award and one thing which you could’t take evenly. I thank the ICC for the massive honour.”

Fitzpatrick, the eighth girl to be inducted into the Corridor of Fame, was the quickest bowler in ladies’s cricket over the course of her 16-year worldwide profession. Her tally of 180 ODI wickets was the very best in ladies’s cricket, till it was surpassed by India seamer Jhulan Goswami in Could 2017. Fitzpatrick helped Australia elevate two Ladies’s World Cups – in 1997 and 2005 – and was coach of the facet between Could 2012 and Could 2015, by which time Australia Ladies gained a World Cup and two World T20 titles.

“To realize recognition alongside most of the video games’ giants is a big honour. I have a look at the record of previous inductees and what stands out most just isn’t solely their excellent expertise, however that they had been sport changers. They took the sport on and adjusted the best way it was performed.”

ICC’s chief government Manu Sawhney mentioned the three had been among the many best gamers to have ever graced the sport. “It’s a nice honour for us to announce the 2019 inductees into the ICC Cricket Corridor of Fame. Sachin, Allan and Cathryn are three of the best gamers to ever grace our sport and are deserved additions to the Corridor of Fame. On behalf of the ICC, I wish to congratulate all three gamers, who enrich the record of all-time greats already members of this choose membership.”


Image Supply


Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker