Germany states that regions in 11 European countries are at high risk of contracting the corona virus | Instant News

FILE PHOTO: A man walks past closed shops and restaurants on the deserted Mont-Saint-Michel shopping street in France’s western Normandy region, as lockdowns are put in place to slow the spread of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) in France, April 17, 2020. Image taken 17 April 2020. REUTERS / Pascal Rossignol

BERLIN (Reuters) – Germany added territories in 11 European countries to its list of destinations classified as coronavirus risk zones, dealing a further blow to hopes of a tourism revival as many countries brace for a possible second wave of the pandemic.

The territories newly registered by the health agency Robert Koch Institute include major tourist destinations such as the French region of Center-Val de Loire, Brittany and Normandy, as well as the Lika-Senj coastal region in Croatia and the highlands of the Primorsko-notranjska region in Slovenia.

The capitals of Ireland, Portugal and Denmark, the province of Utrecht in the Netherlands, the state of Vorarlberg in Austria, most of the Czech Republic, the Gyor region in Western Hungary, and the Covasna region in Romania are also listed.

Registering as a risk area is usually followed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs which advises against nonessential travel to the region.

Germany warns against traveling to regions within the European Union where the COVID-19 infection rate exceeds a weekly rate of 50 per 100,000 population.

Reporting by Thomas Escritt; Edited by Chizu Nomiyama


image source

to request modification Contact us at Here or [email protected]