Karachi and Peshawar gear up for Oct 21 by-elections

Karachi and Peshawar are gearing up for the by-election on Sunday (October 21). Voters will head to the polls at 8am and polling will proceed until 5pm.

In Karachi, two seats had been vacated, one by President Arif Alvi and the opposite by Sindh Governor Imran Ismail.

The by-election for NA-247, which was vacated by the president, will probably be contested by the PTI’s Aftab Hussain Siddiqui, the PPP’s Qaiser Nizamani and MQM’s Sadiq Iftikhar. The PSP’s deputy mayor, Arshad Vohra, can also be contesting the election.

For the PS-111 seat, which was vacated by Ismail, there are 15 candidates. The PTI’s Shehzad Qureshi, PPP’s Fayaz Pirzada and MQM’s Jahanzaib Mughal are all within the working for the seat.

Related: By-election 2018 — Polling comes to an end

Each seats are in the identical constituency and have 722,00zero registered voters. There are 320 polling stations within the constituency.

One provincial meeting seat is up for grabs in Peshawar and a Sindh Meeting and Nationwide Meeting seat are being contested in Karachi.

In Peshawar, the PK-71 seat was left vacant after Shah Farman was appointed KP governor.

Within the by-election, the PTI’s Zulqarnain and ANP’s Salahuddin will probably be combating for the seat. Salahuddin has the help of the joint opposition.

There are 132,426 registered voters within the constituency.



Show More

Leave a Reply

Translate »