Secretary of State Attends Virtual Pacific Islands Forum | Instant News

Hon Nanaia Mahuta

Minister of Foreign Affairs

Hon Aupito William Sio

Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs

Minister of Foreign Affairs Hon Nanaia Mahuta and Hon Aupito William Sio, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs today attended the Virtual Islands Forum Special Leaders Retreat from Waitangi.

During this Retreat, Pacific Leaders focused on COVID-19 recovery and response, and in particular fair and timely access to safe vaccines for Pacific peoples.

“Forums play an important role in leading collective action on important issues affecting all of us. The health and well-being of the Pacific population and the recovery of the Pacific economy is paramount for New Zealand, ”said Nanaia Mahuta.

“We have allocated $ 75 million in Official Development Assistance to support access to Pacific vaccines, including purchasing, planning, and shipping. We work closely with Australia and other Pacific Islands Forum Members, as well as our regional partners, to ensure Pacific countries have the total support needed to run a successful immunization campaign. “

Minister Sio said he acknowledged the outstanding work the Pacific region has done collectively to eradicate, and in many cases eradicate, COVID-19.

“There is currently no more pressing and immediate problem than fair access to vaccines for everyone in the Pacific. New Zealand is committed to ensuring everyone in the Pacific has access to a safe and effective vaccine and we will work across the region with Pacific member countries, Australia, WHO, UNICEF, ADB and our external partners to make this happen, “Aupito William Sio said. .

Pacific Leaders will discuss the appointment of the next Secretary General of the Pacific Islands Forum.

“I look forward to discussing with my fellow leaders the importance of appointing a new Secretary General who can guide our collective response to common regional problems,” said Nanaia Mahuta.

Notes to editors:

The Pacific Islands Forum is the region’s premier political and economic policy organization. Founded in 1971, the organization has 18 members: Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Republic of the Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands , Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.

© Scoop Media


image source

to request modification Contact us at Here or [email protected]