Membership of 332 parliamentarians suspended for not declaring assets

ISLAMABAD: The Election Fee of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday has suspended membership of 332 parliamentarians over failing to submit particulars of their property, ARY Information reported.

The electoral physique has additionally penned letters to the chairman Senate, speaker Nationwide Meeting and the audio system of the Provincial Assemblies on this regard.

The letter states that these members who did not submit their property particulars with the ECP needs to be stopped from their working until they file the stated particulars.

These whose membership has been suspended embody Federal Minister for Data Fawad Chaudhry, Deputy Speaker NA Qasim Suri, State Minister for Inside Affairs Shehryar Afridi and Federal Minister for Kashmir Affairs Ali Amin Gandapur.

Read more: ECP estimates Rs15mn for i-voting in next polls

Membership of Akhtar Mengal, Federal Well being Minister Amir Kiani, Hussain Illahi, MPA Bilal Yaseen, Mujtaba Shuja-ur-Rehman and others has additionally been suspended.

Based on the ECP’s notification, the membership of as many as twenty senators, seventy two members of Nationwide Meeting, 115 members of Punjab Meeting, fifty-two members of Sindh Meeting, fifty-four members of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Meeting and nineteen members of Balochistan Meeting, has been suspended.



Leave a Reply

Back to top button