Modi sworn in for second term as Indian prime minister

NEW DELHI: Narendra Modi was sworn in for a second time period as India’s prime minister on Thursday after an awesome election victory for his Hindu nationalist get together in a rustic of 1.three billion folks in search of swift financial change.

President Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath to Modi and his Cupboard ministers.

Lacking from the brand new Cupboard had been former Exterior Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj and Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, who stepped apart for well being causes.

The portfolios of the Cupboard ministers had been anticipated to be introduced later Thursday. They embrace new appointee Amit Shah, who has headed Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Get together as president since 2014.

Within the current elections, Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Get together gained 303 seats within the 542-member decrease home of Parliament, giving him large authority.

Nevertheless, he faces immense challenges together with a slowing financial system, excessive 6.2% unemployment and low agricultural costs which have damage farmers.

The opposition Congress get together, which had dominated Indian politics for the reason that nation gained independence from Britain in 1947, was decreased to 52 seats. Its key leaders, Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi, attended Thursday’s ceremony on the presidential palace.

The ceremony was attended by a number of South Asian and Southeast Asian leaders as a part of Modi’s effort to construct financial partnerships within the area.

Modi didn’t invite Pakistani Prime Minister Imran Khan, signifying that tense relations proceed between the nuclear-armed rivals.

Modi has been demanding an finish to Pakistan’s assist for rebel teams which assault Indian forces and installations in disputed Kashmir. Pakistan says it gives solely ethical and diplomatic assist to those teams.

Modi invited then-Pakistani Prime Minister, Nawaz Sharif, for his swearing-in ceremony in 2014. However hostility between the 2 nations, which have fought three wars since profitable independence from Britain in 1947, has not eased previously 5 years.

These attending Thursday’s ceremony included Thai envoy Grisada Boonrach, Kyrgyz President Sooronbay Jeenbekov, Bangladesh President Mohammed Abdul Hamid, Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena, Mauritius President Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Nepalese Prime Minister Ok.P. Sharma Oli, Bhutan Prime Minister Lotay Tshering and Myanmar President Win Myint.—AP


Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker