Coronavirus: Indian women qualify for the 2021 World Cup after the Pakistan round is canceled | Instant News

“BCCI shows that they cannot obtain the necessary government permission to enable India to participate in a bilateral series against Pakistan, which is part of the ICC Women’s Championship.”

FIGURE: India, with 23 points, has qualified for the 2021 World Cup based on being the top four behind Australia (37 points), England (29) and South Africa (25). Photo: Shaun Botterill / Getty Images

The Indian women’s team confirmed their qualification for the 2021 ODI World Cup after canceling their Championship round against Pakistan with BCCI not getting government permission to play against their archenemies.

The India vs Pakistan round is scheduled to take place between July and November last year but is always subject to government permission. The two teams will share points for the canceled three match series.

“Regarding the India vs Pakistan series, TC concluded that the series could not be played because of Force Majeure events after BCCI showed that it could not obtain the necessary government permission to allow India to participate in a bilateral series against Pakistan, which is part of the ICC Women’s Championship,” said the ICC in a statement.

“The India-Pakistan series was originally scheduled for the sixth round of competition, between July and November 2019, but despite the best efforts of the two councils, that cannot happen,” he said.

This development also means that India, who were runners-up in the 2017 edition, have won their place for the 2021 World Cup in New Zealand.

Both India and Pakistan only played in the ICC event because of diplomatic tensions between the two countries.

All eight teams in the 2017-2020 edition of the ICC Women’s Championship play each other in a three-match series. The hosts of New Zealand and the four teams with the next highest positions in the points table qualify directly for the one-day international cricket show.

“Australia (37 points), United Kingdom (29), South Africa (25) and now India (23) have fulfilled the requirements based on being the top four. Pakistan (19), New Zealand (17), West Indies (13) and Sri Lanka (5) complete the table, “the statement added.

Two more rounds have been canceled but that is because the coronavirus pandemic is spreading rapidly. South Africa will host Australia and Sri Lanka will host New Zealand in the final round of matches. Points will also be shared in their case.

World Cup qualifiers are scheduled to be played from July 3-19 in Sri Lanka but will be reviewed due to a pandemic.

The 10 teams competing for the three remaining places at the exhibition will host, Sri Lanka, along with Pakistan and the West Indies from the ICC Women’s Championship, two other teams with ODI status, Bangladesh and Ireland, and winners of five regional qualifications – Thailand (Asia), Zimbabwe (Africa), Papua New Guinea (East Asia Pacific), the United States (America) and the Netherlands (Europe).


image source

to request modification Contact us at Here or [email protected]