Six newcomers in the 17-man squad for the first SA Test – Newspaper | Instant News

KARACHI: The rookie hitting trio of Kamran Ghulam, Salman Ali Agha and Abdullah Shafiq were left out as the national selectors retained six other players who were yet to play when announcing on Sunday the 17-man squad for Pakistan’s first Test against South Africa here at the National Stadium.

However, Kamran – this season’s record-breaking run-getter with 1,249 in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy – Salman and Abdullah will remain with the Pakistan squad but will not be considered for selection, at least for their second opening test. series of matches after new chief selector Mohammad Wasim included them in the starting 20 squad announced on January 15.

The six ‘lucky’ to keep their place in the final squad are batsmen Imran Butt, who wants to open up with fellow right-hander Abid Ali, and left-handed Saud Shakeel along with the driving duo Haris Rauf and Tabish Khan and Spin pair of slow leftist Nauman Ali. and off-spinner Sajid Khan, who was the top goalkeeper during the recent first-class season.

Star batsman Babar Azam – who missed all internationals during the New Zealand series with a thumb injury earlier in the tour – is set to lead Pakistan for the first time in Test cricket when he walks out to throw with his South African counterpart Quinton de Kock on Tuesday. morning.

Following the 2-0 defeat to New Zealand, the selectors eliminated the trio of Shan Masood, Haris Sohail and Mohammad Abbas keeping only seven members – vice-captains Mohammad Rizwan, Abid, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Faheem Ashraf, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Yasir Shah – who played against Kane Williamson’s team.

The second test will be played in Rawalpindi starting February 4.

Squad: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice captain), Abid Ali, Imran Butt, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Saud Shakeel, Faheem Ashraf, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Yasir Shah, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Tabish Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz.-KHK

Published in Dawn, January 25, 2021

image source

to request modification Contact us at Here or [email protected]