Shahid Afridi has named the XI World Cup of all time. & Nbsp | & nbspPhoto Photos: & nbspAP

Main Highlights

  • Shahid Afridi did not include Imran Khan in the XI World Cup of all time
  • He also ignored Sachin Tendulkar, the top scorer in tournament history
  • Afridi is indeed included Indian captain Virat Kohli, who has played three World Cups so far

There is no place for Sachin Tendulkar and Imran Khan in the XI World Cup during Shahid Afridi’s lifetime. Tendulkar (run 2278) was the top scorer at the World Cup while Imran, one of the best versatile players ever to play, was the only captain of the Pakistan World Cup winner. Afridi, the former Pakistan captain, did name a strong team but ignored some of the legends most remembered for their appearance at the World Cup.

Afridi named Saeed Anwar and Adam Gilchrist as the two opener for his team. Anwar scored 915 runs in 21 World Cup matches while Gilchrist scored 1085 runs in 31 matches. Ricky Ponting, who led Australia to return to the World Cup title, came next on the list. In total, he captained three World Cups – Australia won trophies in 2003 and 2007.

Indian captain Virat Kohli is next on Afridi’s list. He has scored 1030 matches in 26 matches in three World Cups. Pakistan’s former captain, Inzamam-ul-Haq, also has a place in Afridi’s XI squad of all time. He was a member of the 1992 World Cup winning team.

Also read: The Indian team is ready for quarantine two weeks before the Test series against Australia: BCCI officials

Jacques Kallis was the only one who was versatile in the Afridi team when he ignored Imran. Kallis is considered as one of the best all-rounder in all formats.

Afridi called strong speed attacks including Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath and Shoaib Akhtar. With 55 wickets, Akram is the fourth highest goalkeeper in the 50-over tournament. McGrath sits at the top of the list with 71 scalps in 39 matches. Akhtar, who retired after the 2011 World Cup, scalped 30 goals in 19 matches.

Shane Warne and Saqlain Mushtaq are the two spinners on his team. They scalped 32 and 23 wickets in the World Cup 50-over, respectively.

World Cup XI of all time Shahid Afridi: Saeed Anwar, Adam Gilchrist, Ricky Ponting, Virat Kohli, Inzamam ul-Haq, Jacques Kallis, Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath, Shane Warne, Shoaib Akhtar, Saqlain Mushtaq

image source

to request modification Contact us at Here or [email protected]