European Union extends travel ban to Americans | Instant News

The European Union continues to move the United States off its list of approved countries for travel as the number of COVID-19 cases rises across the country; the EU has gradually lifted temporary restrictions on non-essential travel for over a dozen countries approved on July 1 and revised and updated the list as needed every two weeks. The United States was excluded from the original list and has since failed to cut twice as the country fought to match the EU in its coronavirus containment, reporting more than 4.5 million cases confirmed Friday morning. Current Trends As of Thursday’s update, the list of countries approved to travel to the EU includes Australia; Canada; Georgia; Japan; Morocco; New Zealand; Rwanda; South Korea; Thailand; Tunisia; Uruguay and China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity). Montenegro and Serbia were included in the initial list but were left out following the last two updates. EU officials are taking several factors into account, including the number of new COVID-19 cases per 100,000 inhabitants in the past 14 days compared to the EU average (as of June 15, 2020); development of new cases in the same period compared to the previous 14 days and general response to COVID-19 such as testing, surveillance, contact person identification, containment, treatment and notification, among others Some people are exempt from the current restrictions, including EU citizens and their family members; long-term residents and their family members in the EU and essential travelers or those whose travel is deemed absolutely necessary. .

image source

to request modification Contact us at Here or [email protected]