Biden to reinstate COVID-19 travel restrictions for travelers from Brazil, UK, much of Europe and add South Africa | Instant News

President Joe Biden will officially reinstate COVID-19 travel restrictions on Monday for non-U.S. Travelers from Brazil, Ireland, the UK and 26 other European countries that allow travel across open borders, according to two White House officials. Officials, who spoke on condition of anonymity to discuss the order, also confirmed on Sunday that South Africa would be added to the shortlist over concerns over a variant of the virus that has spread to the country. beyond this country. Biden is rescinding an order from President Donald Trump in his last days in office that called for the relaxation of travel restrictions from Tuesday. The decision to reverse the order is not surprising, but the addition of South Africa to the restricted travel list highlights the new administration’s concern over mutations in the virus. The South African variant has not been discovered in the United States, but another variant – native to the United Kingdom – has been detected in several states. Reuters was the first to report Biden’s decision to add South Africa to the list. Last week, Biden issued an executive order ordering federal agencies to require international air travelers to quarantine upon arrival in the United States. The order also requires all passengers bound for the United States aged 2 and over to test negative for COVID-19 within three days of travel. Close Modal Suggest a correction Suggest a correction.

image source

to request modification Contact us at Here or [email protected]