3 seniors from countries named Presidential Scholars | Instant News

Three Arkansas high school seniors from Clinton, Fayetteville and Rogers High Schools have been named US President Scholarship Recipients for 2020 by the U.S. Secretary of Education. Betsy DeVos.

Amanda Mei Thomsen from Fayetteville High School, Jack Norris from Rogers High School and Brooke Avery Bradford from Clinton High School were among 161 nation 2020 Class members to receive awards for outstanding academic achievement, community service, and leadership.

Annual award recipients include one male and one female student from each of the states, District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the U.S. family. living abroad. There are also 15 scholars who are chosen broadly, 20 selected for their achievements in the arts and 20 selected for their achievements in career and technical education.

Among Arkansas students, Bradford was appointed as the US Presidential Bachelor in Career and Technical Education.

Bradford intends to attend the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville to study agricultural communication and political science, with plans to finally get a law degree. The daughters of Wayne and Lacy Bradford, graduates of Clinton High School graduates include elections as governor of the Lieutenant of the State of Arkansas and this week’s election as president of the state of Future Farmers of America. He has also been a leader in 4-H Club and Rotary Club activities.

Bradford chose Chad Mooney, an agriculture teacher at his school for the recognition of the leading Presidential Scholarship Program.

Norris also plans to attend UA-Fayetteville to study computer science and business. As the son of Aaron and Geraldine Norris, Jack Norris was a Merit National Finalist and got a perfect score of 36 at ACT. At Rogers High, he was involved in orchestras and golf and was a leader in developing a school application called Mountie Mobile to connect students with school activities and schedules.

Norris nominated Rogers music teacher Karol Rulli to honor honorable teachers.

Thomsen will be a Fellow of the University of Arkansas Honors College majoring in economics and industrial engineering. He scored 36 perfect on ACT, was the Merit National Finalist and the National Advanced Placement Bachelor. He is the current President of the National Student Delegation of Mu Alpha Theta, a role in which he works to promote access to educational opportunities for under-represented groups of students. He is a competitive figure skater, a pianist and lead drummer for award-winning high school marching bands.

Thomsen’s parents are Michael Thomsen and Judith Wang.

Thomsen chose the geometry teacher Marcia Bogart for the recognition of the honorable teacher.

“These exemplary young people have excelled inside and outside the classroom. And, when they face unprecedented challenges when they graduate from high school to a world that looks much different from what they did just a few months ago, determination, toughness, and their commitment to excellence will benefit them as they pursue the next step, “DeVos said.

More than 5,300 national high school 3.6 million candidates have graduated this year to qualify for the 2020 award based on SAT College Board exams or ACT exams or through nominations made by their state state school chiefs, other partner associate organizations and National Young Arts Foundation’s. national level Youth Arts competition.

The 2020 Presidential Scholar Class will be recognized for their outstanding achievements this summer, as public health conditions permit, according to the U.S. Department of Education announcement.

Metro on 5/23/2020

Print Headline: 3 seniors from a country named Presidential Scholars

Sponsor Content


image source

to request modification Contact us at Here or [email protected]in.com