Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Yasir Shah to receive civil award on Pakistan Day

Photograph Courtesy: Pakistan Cricket Board

Cricketers Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Yasir Shah will obtain a civil award on Pakistan Day (March 23) this 12 months.

“Wasim and Waqar can be bestowed with the Hilal-e-Imtiaz, the second highest civilian award after Nishan-e-Pakistan, whereas Yasir Shah can be awarded Sitara-e-Imtiaz, the third highest civilian award, by the President of Pakistan Dr Arif Alvi on March 23,” a launch by Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) mentioned.

The PCB went on to state that the Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis are revered commentators and have performed their function in enhancing the picture of Pakistan and cricket as broadcasters whereas Yasir has had a lion’s share in Pakistan’s main Check wins within the latest previous.

Associated: Yasir becomes fastest to 200 Test wickets

Wasim and Waqar have been conferred with the Delight of Efficiency awards in 1992 and 1995, respectively.

Wasim bagged 414 Checks and 502 ODIs wickets in his profession which spanned from 1984 to 2003, whereas Waqar claimed 373 Check and 416 ODI wickets in his 14-year worldwide profession. They’ve been inducted within the ICC Cricket Corridor of Fame as nicely.

Yasir Shah has 203 and 19 wickets in 35 Checks and 19 ODIs, respectively, after rising within the worldwide circuit in 2011. He turned the quickest bowler to take 200 Check wickets final 12 months.

Observe SAMAA Sports activities on Facebook and Twitter




Leave a Reply

Back to top button